Buhari Orders Immediate Opening Of Four Land Borders


By Mukwuzi Joseph

President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered the immediate opening of four land borders.

The borders are Seme in the southwest, Illela in Sokoto State, Maigatari in the northwest, and Mfun in the south-south.

The announcement was made by the Minister of Finance at the end of the 28th virtual FEC meeting on Wednesday.

The President also directed other land borders to be opened by December 31, 2020.

According to a tweet posted on the President’s official Twitter handles,

”President Buhari  has directed the immediate opening of four land borders: Seme, Illela, Maigatari, and Mfun.”the tweet read

Presidnet Buhari orders immediate reopening of four land borders

The borders have been closed since August 2019. According to the Federal government, the borders were closed so as to curtail illegal importation of drugs, small arms and agricultural products into country from neighbouring West African nations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *